Starwood 2014 Annual Category Changes – Canadian Hotels

I am a big Starwood fan (most of the time), no blackout dates, valuable and flexible points, but today just over 20% of all their hotels are changing category, of these 56% are moving down and 44% are moving up.

Most hotels chains reorganize their categories yearly to keep them current with the average rates that they charge.  The beauty of hotel points is that there are no blackout dates or capacity controls, if there is a room you can use points for it. 

So even if a major event is in town and rates are quadruple what they normally are you can still use the regular amount of points as long as the hotel is not sold out of standard rooms.

This list is subject to change and other hotels can still be added to it.

Starwood’s standard award chart will not change:
If you stay 5 nights with points the 5th night is free.
Category 1 = 2,000 (weekend), 3,000 (weekday).
Category 2 = 3,000 (weekend), 4,000 (weekday).
Category 3 = 7,000
Category 4 = 10,000
Category 5 = 12,000 (Low Season), 16,000 (High Season).
Category 6 = 20,000 (Low Season), 25,000 (High Season).
Category 7 = 30,000 (Low Season), 35,000 (High Season).

Here are the Canadian updates:

  • Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg
    International Airport from a 3 to a 4.
  • Four Points by Sheraton Kelowna Airporta 4 to a 3.
  • Four Points by Sheraton Kingston a 4 to a 3.
  • Four Points by Sheraton Toronto Airport a 3 to a 2.

The major resorts in Hawaii were increased :{